Home Sports Here’s the List of Teams participating in Dream 11 IPL 2020

Here’s the List of Teams participating in Dream 11 IPL 2020

by Clare Louise

Dream11 IPL 2020 is the 13th season of IPL and is one of the most anticipated seasons compared to the past ones. IPL generally begins between March and April every year like it has been since 2008. Due to the Global Pandemic that affected all the Businesses and extravagant events such as these, IPL was also postponed until the final dates were announced as September 19th to 10th November 2020.
Eight franchises will be battling for the IPL Trophy in this thirteenth season. The tournament will commence on September 19th in the UAE and the teams will be competing with each other in three different venues located in Sharjah, Abu Dhabi, and Dubai.
IPL teams were named with regard to different cities in India like Mumbai, Delhi, Bangalore, Hyderabad, Kolkata, Chennai, etc. Over the years the teams have become a common element in household discussions. But, if you are a viewer that has never heard of IPL but is interested because of the buzz, here is a basic brief about the teams and their players.

Mumbai Indians

Mumbai Indians led by Rohit Sharma managed to retain all the core players during the auction. Some of the key players they retained include Hardik Pandya, Krunal Pandya and foreign players such as Quinton de Kock and Kieron Pollard. This tells that the team is ready and planning to win the Trophy for fifth time. They made one of the most expensive purchases by buying Nathan-Coulter-Nile in auction.

Royal Challengers Bangalore

The IPL team which has bagged runner up thrice but has never managed to win the trophy is all set and is highly focused on winning the trophy this season. Virat Kohli, known as one of the best batsmen in the world is yet to add this achievement of winning IPL into his list. However, this team was able to retain only 13 players, lowest among all. RCB’s top players include AB de Villiers, Aaron Finch, Moeen Ali, Chris Morris, Dale Steyn, Mohammad Siraj, Navdeep Saini and Yuzvendra Chahal.

Chennai super Kings

CSK seemed to spend a less during auction this time. However, they retained core players who were like back bone to the team such as MS Dhoni, Ravindra Jadeja, Dwayne Bravo, Shane Watson etc. No one can stop them from winning when they are on a roll. They always give a tough fight and challenge their arch nemesis Mumbai Indians. Top players in CSK include Faf du Plessis, Kedhar Jadhav, Ravindra Jadeja, Sam Curran, Lungi Ngidi, Mitchell Santner, Shardul Thakur, etc.

Delhi Capitals

This team is still yet to face final battle in IPL. Having said that they have good chance of winning title this time by comprising many of the young Indian players along with Shreyas Iyer and Rishabh Pant. Their squad includes game changing players like Ricky Ponting, Alex Carey and Marcus Stoinis. But the team is one of the youngest and comprises of some of the greatest players this year. Some of the Delhi Capitals’ top players are Ajinkya Rahane, Shikhar Dhawan, Keemo Paul, Shimron Hetmeyer, Jason Roy, Ravichandran Ashwin, Ishant Sharma, Amit Mishra, Kagiso Rabada, etc.

Kings XI Punjab

This team is known to Kick start well and steep down in the second half. In this season, this team set their focus on including more all-rounders in their squad. The Key players in the team are K L Rahul, Glenn Maxwell, Mohammed Shami, Chris Gayle, Nicholas Pooran, Mayank Agarwal, Sheldon Cottrell, Sarfaraz Khan, James Neesham, etc.

Kolkata Knight Riders

This team drifted away from the race lately. They won their initial matches Five times in a row when they started off but lost the lion’s share of league matches dramatically last year. Even though KKR team has lost many matches, it has become one of the main points of discussion in IPL 2019 and then later during the IPL 2020 auctions. The team made their highest purchase on Pat Cummins, an overseas player and they purchased Pravin Tambe, a 48 year old player for 20 Lakhs. Along with these, the team has incredible players like Andre Russell, Lockie Ferguson, Shubhman Gill, Eoin Morgan, Dinesh Karthik, Sunil Narine, Nitish Rana, etc.

Rajasthan Royals

Best known as the inaugural winners of IPL, Rajasthan Royals is one of the best teams in IPL. They are hoping to leave their mark in this season. Key players we can look on in this team are Steve Smith, Sanju Samson, Jaydhev Unadkat, Ben stokes, David Miller, Jos Buttler, Jofra Archer, Andrew Tye, Oshane Thomas, etc.

Sunrisers Hyderabad

After 2016 win this team did not get a chance to add one more accomplishment in their stack. They managed to retain most of their core players such as Manish Pandey, Kane Williamson, Rashid Khan and it is led by David Warner who was one of the key players of IPL 2019. Superb Bowling attack and Fantastic all-rounders is their biggest strength this time.
The best part of Dream11 IPL 2020 is that arch-rivals Mumbai Indians and Chennai Super Kings will be first ones to lock their horns off in this season. Watch the entire IPL 2020 Live on YuppTV from Continental Europe, Malaysia, Australia, Sri Lanka, South and Central America, South East Asia (excluding Singapore), and Central Asia.

Leave a Comment